If

Lying on our bed together,

Leaning against our kitchen counter together,

Standing here together in a parking lot with a bus

Headed to boot camp headed to a plane headed

To a country news stories are made of.  And you.

You say to me then, I wouldn’t be gone forever.

And I say promise, not because it is possible but

Because it isn’t, because that is what you do,

When your husband goes to war.  And now.

Now all I can think about is you and what if,

If I make my body a tarmac, a soft landing,

If I make my feet a compass, navigational pull,

If I make my hair a map, each strand a direction

Leading the way, back to the root, back to the scalp,

The scalp of me and this family, will you?

Will you come back?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If

  1. usmcwife8999 says:

    Nice

Leave a Reply

